New York, New York: Still a Big City of Dreams

Kevin Scott Hall
6 min readMay 3, 2024
Photo by Trevor Hayes on Unsplash

Well, I just returned from a whirlwind week in New York. I lived there for decades and left for rural New England three years ago, but I can’t quite get it out of my system. No New Yorker can.

The week was filled with two life celebrations for great artist friends of mine who had passed recently; dinners out with cherished friends; theater and music and comedy; visiting the New York office (I still work remotely out of NY); and lots of walking and mass transit. I came home more exhausted than when I left, as it should be. And still . . . there were people I missed (if you are reading this, you’re probably on the list for the next trip).

I took in the city from midtown to downtown to Brooklyn to Queens and even Rockville Centre on Long Island, where I stayed. (I mean, how many of my friends in the city proper have a second bedroom for guests? I didn’t think so.)

I got to thinking about how many who have moved away say things like, “It’s a great place to visit now, but I no longer want to live there.” Or, “It’s changed; not what it used to be.”

Well, guess what? New York has never been what it used to be. That is the beauty of it. It is always changing and adapting. That is its great superpower. It embraces all who come to its shores. For those who choose to stay, it can be a hard life if…

--

--

Kevin Scott Hall

I am an educator and the author of "A Quarter Inch From My Heart" (memoir) and "Off the Charts" (novel). I'm also a singer/songwriter and public speaker.